Location 7465:

I sighed. Maggie’s limp, warm little body was emitting a barrage of some kind of subatomic particle that was making me drowsy. Probably sleepeons. Mouse snored a little, generating his own sleepeon field.




Location 7475:

“I’m not sure I do anymore,” I said, “and it scares the hell out of me. What happens if she does it? What happens if she turns me into her personal monster? What is she going to do with me then?” “Oh, Harry,” Michael said. “You’re asking exactly the wrong question, my friend.” “What do you mean?” I asked. He looked at me, his face serious, even worried. “What is she going to do with you if she can’t?” A fluttery fear went through my belly at the thought. Silence fell. The night was dark and quiet and misty. Somewhere, out there in it, Mab was moving, planning. Part of her plans, the dark, bloody, violent parts, included me.