Location 1492:

A long silence. Too long, as Aileron’s heavy-lidded gaze remained bleakly on his brother’s face. The cheering had run itself down. A moment passed. Another. A stir of cold, cold wind. "Brightly woven, Diar," Aileron said. And then dazzled them all with the warmth of his smile. They began to move inside. Both ways, Shalhassan was thinking bemusedly. They knew all along and they had prepared in two hours. What sort of men were these two sons of Ailell? "Be grateful," came a voice at his side. "They are ours." He turned and received a golden wink from a lios alfar and a grin from Brock, the Dwarf next to him. Before he knew what he was doing, Shalhassan smiled.




Location 1638:

Brendel knew already; she could see the wonder silver in his eyes.




Location 2719:

In theory, anyway. Theory and reality began their radical bifurcation around the axis formed by the flying figure of Dave Martyniuk at precisely the point where his shoulder crashed into that of the boar.




Location 3542:

"Supreme Lord of Cathal," Tegid repeated, a little more softly, for his mighty lungs had shaped a silence all around with that first shout, "have I your attendant ear?" "You have," her father said with grave courtesy. "Then I am bid to tell you that I am sent here by a lord of infinite nobility, whose virtues I could number until the moon rose and set and rose again. I am sent to say to you, in this place and among the people here gathered in concourse, that the sun rises in your daughter’s eyes."




Updated: Mar 04, 2022


Location 3536:

Formally, he had promised. Even to the Interceder who was to speak for him, after the old fashion. He had also warned her in Gwen Ystrat that he would never move to the measured gait, he would always have to play. And so Tegid of Rhoden was his Intercedent. The fat man—he was truly enormous—was blessedly sober.




Location 4555:

"We should," said Loren. "But you should know that Teyrnon is now the only mage in Fionavar." "What?" It was the Dwarf. Loren smiled sadly. "Reach for me, my friend." Slowly they saw Matt’s face drain of color. "Easy," Loren cautioned. "Be easy." He turned to the others. "Let no one grieve. When Matt died our link was broken and I ceased to be a mage. Bringing him back could not reforge what had been severed." There was a silence. "Oh, Loren," Matt said faintly. Loren wheeled on him and there was a fire in his eyes. "Hear me!" He spun again and looked at the company. "I was a man before I was a mage. I hated the Dark as a child and I do so now, and I can wield a sword!" He turned back to Matt and his voice deepened. "You left your destiny once to link it with my own and it led you far from home, my friend. Now, it seems, the circle is closing. Will you accept me? Am I a fit companion for the rightful King of Dwarves, who must go back now to Calor Diman to reclaim his Crown?" And they were humbled and abashed at what blazed forth from Loren in that moment, as he knelt on the stones before Matt.