Location 514:

“My name,” she said at last, “is Miss Tick. And I am a witch. It’s a good name for a witch, of course.” “You mean blood-sucking parasite?” said Tiffany, wrinkling her forehead. “I’m sorry?” said Miss Tick, coldly. “Ticks,” said Tiffany. “Sheep get them. But if you use turpentine—” “I meant that it sounds like ‘mystic,’” said Miss Tick. “Oh, you mean a pune, or play on words,” said Tiffany.




Location 765:

“Well, I must go. I hope we shall meet again. I will give you some free advice, though.” “Will it cost me anything?” “What? I just said it was free!” said Miss Tick. “Yes, but my father said that free advice often turns out to be expensive,” said Tiffany. Miss Tick sniffed. “You could say this advice is priceless,” she said. “Are you listening?” “Yes,” said Tiffany. “Good. Now . . . if you trust in yourself . . .” “Yes?” “. . . and believe in your dreams . . .” “Yes?” “. . . and follow your star . . .” Miss Tick went on. “Yes?” “. . . you’ll still get beaten by people who spent their time working hard and learning things and weren’t so lazy. Good-bye.”




Location 2753:

“Them as can do has to do for them as can’t. And someone has to speak up for them as has no voices.”




Location 3213:

The Nac Mac Feegle were real, and once again she wished they were here. There was something about the way they shouted “Crivens!” and attacked everything in sight that was so very comforting.




Location 4249:

“The thing about witchcraft,” said Mistress Weatherwax, “is that it’s not like school at all. First you get the test, and then afterward you spend years findin’ out how you passed it. It’s a bit like life in that respect.”